I will give each movie that I review an overall rating (out of 5 stars) that is composed of the average scores of the following categories:

  • The Psychopath
  • Development of Emotional Terror
  • Real-Life Accuracy
  • Cinematography
  • Concluding Feeling

I will also provide an in-depth analysis and criticism of each movie based on their ability to complete the requirements I’ve listed below:

  • The Psychopath
    • Did the psychopath successfully manipulate the emotions/thoughts of the audience?
    • Was the psychopath a relatively accurate portrayal of the psychological disorder?
  • Development of Emotional Terror
    • Was there a convincing/successful evolution of discomfort/emotional terror?
    • Was the climax defined by a moment of extreme psychological terror/anxiety for the characters and the audience?
  • Real-life Accuracy
    • Was the film generally realistic?
      • *ignoring supernatural occurrences
    • How well did the film make the lives of “ordinary” people terrifying?
  • Cinematography
    • Did the cinematography add to the psychological discomfort of the movie?
  • Concluding Feeling
    • Am I feeling discomfort, confusion, unsettledness, disgust?
    • Did the psychologically tense aspects of the film lead me to feel this way?
    • Did the movie lead me to question my judgement, emotions, own life?
